Boston Bruins Mid Season Awards

Jeremy Swayman and Linus Ullmark. Photo via

Your Boston Bruins have reached the halfway point of their season and it’s been a half season for the record books. I don’t think anyone expected this but if they did, I’d like to shake their hand. Game 41 was their first regulation loss at home on the season and it’s one players and fans alike would like to forget.

There are a lot of players on this roster that are exceeding expectations. Fans are going to have a tough choice selecting the NESN Seventh Player Award winner. But that’s what makes good teams great.

Today I am looking at the major NHL awards and who on the Bruins takes that award. Some may even actually win the award.

Hart Memorial Trophy – Linus Ullmark (Awarded to the most valuable player to his team.)

You could make the argument that David Pastrnak is more valuable and that may prove to be the case in the second half as Jeremy Swayman is returning to his form. But in the first half? I would say Ullmark has carried the Bruins and has stolen more games than Pastrnak has and he needed to be the most valuable player while Swayman was finding his game.

Ted Lindsay Award – David Pastrnak (Awarded to the most outstanding player.)

I don’t think this is even debatable. Hands down, the Bruins best player from start to this point. He can turn nothing into something, makes everyone around him better and oh yeah, he can create for himself too. Dynamic, bring your asses out of your seat player.

Vezina Trophy – Linus Ullmark (Awarded to the best goaltender)

Like the team in front of him, Linus Ullmark is having a historic run and one could say he is the reason on many nights. If the season ended today, Ullmark would win this award.

James Norris Memorial Trophy – Hampus Lindholm (Awarded to the best defenceman)

Maybe if Charlie McAvoy hadn’t missed 14 games or was at the top of his game right away, we could have a discussion about this. But through 41 games, Hampus Lindholm has been the guy on the back end.

Calder Memorial Trophy – No One (Awarded to the top rookie)

Jack Adams Award – Jim Montgomery (Awarded to the coach of the year.)

There is only one possible choice here and that is Jim Montgomery. He has to be considered the leader to win the award at league level at this point in the season.

Frank Selke Trophy – Patrice Bergeron (Awarded to the best defensive forward.)

Patrice Bergeron is still an elite defensive forward, not just on the Bruins but the entire league. I will be shocked if he is not a finalist for the award at the end of the season.

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy – Patrice Bergeron (Awarded to the most gentlemanly player)

I don’t know many players that can go into a scrum and calm everyone down just by showing his face like Patrice Bergeron can. It’s the respect he has earned around the league as a true gentleman.

Jim Gregory Award – Don Sweeney (Awarded to the general manager of the year)

Again, only one possibility here. Like Montgomery, Don Sweeney has a legitimate chance of winning this award. He put together a team that is on a historic run and that won’t be ignored among the voters.

Bill Masterton Memorial – Jake DeBrusk (Awarded for dedication to hockey)

By now we all know the history with Jake DeBrusk. He stuck it out and persevered. And he was having a career year until an injury knocked him out of the lineup.

Mark Messier Leadership Award – Patrice Bergeron (Awarded for leadership)

Every time I hear Coach Montgomery talk about “it’s Bergeron’s room” I feel like he’s doing a selling job to get Bergy noticed for this award. Bergeron doesn’t need any help in that department. I think the entire hockey world noticed how he handled the Miller signing situation and that alone could get Bergeron the award.

King Clancy Memorial Trophy – Nick Foligno (Awarded for leadership and humanitarian contributions)

Foligno was the Bruins nominee a season ago and should get consideration again this season for his (and his wife’s) work both in Boston and Nationally with The Hearts Playbook Foundation.

Rocket Richard Trophy – David Pastrnak(Awarded to the leading goal scorer)

Yeah, this one won’t even be close. Does he have a shot at winning his second Rocket Richard Trophy? Absolutely. With 32 goals in 41 games, he trails Connor McDavid (43 games) by 3 goals. However, keep a close eye on Tage Thompson of the Sabres with 31 goals.

William Jennings Trophy – Linus Ullmark and Jeremy Swayman (Awarded to goaltenders with lowest GAA)

Obviously, no one else on the team is eligible to win this but the goaltenders. Thing is, they could very well win this award. Ullmark is playing at a record pace and Swayman is really rolling into form.

Follow me on Twitter @dominictiano

Published by Dominic Tiano

Following the Ontario Hockey League players eligible for the NHL Draft. I provide season-long stats, updates and player profiles as well as draft rankings.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: